

Terms of Reference - Honorary Awards Committee Rule

Section 1 - Purpose and Scope

Purpose

(1) The purpose of this Rule is to define terms of reference for the Honorary Awards Committee.

Scope

(2) This Rule applies to the members and operation of the Honorary Awards Committee.

Section 2 - Terms of Reference

Purpose

(3) The Honorary Awards Committee assists the Southern Cross University Council in exercising due care, diligence and skill in discharging Council's responsibilities by:

- a. advising Council on the criteria and procedures for awarding honorary degrees and honorary titles;
- b. on behalf of Council, receiving nominations for consideration for the conferring of an honorary award or honorary title and the conferring of emeritus professorships;
- c. making recommendations to Council concerning the conferring of honorary awards, honorary titles and emeritus professorships, their number, frequency, and the individuals to be honoured; and
- d. considering nominating person to the Order of Australia as appropriate.

Composition

(4) The membership of the Committee consists of:

- a. Chancellor (Chair)
- b. Deputy Chancellor
- c. Vice Chancellor
- d. Chair, Academic Board
- e. Two Council members
- (5) The Chancellor invites members to the Committee and all appointments are endorsed by Council.
- (6) As far as practicable, members should be appointed based on relevant background, expertise and qualifications.

Quorum

(7) A quorum shall consist of not less than half of the Committee members.

Meetings

(8) The Committee shall meet as required.

Current Membership

- (9) Ms Sandra McPhee AM, Chancellor (Chair)
- (10) Mr Murray d'Almeida, Deputy Chancellor
- (11) Professor Tyrone Carlin, Vice Chancellor
- (12) Professor Andrew Rose, Chair of Academic Board
- (13) Dr Renaud Joannes-Boyau
- (14) Dr Austin Curtin

Page 2 of 3

Status and Details

Status	Historic
Effective Date	25th February 2019
Review Date	25th October 2021
Approval Authority	University Council
Approval Date	25th February 2019
Expiry Date	28th July 2022
Responsible Executive	Mark Dixon Council Secretary
Head of Work Unit	Mark Dixon Director, Governance Services
Enquiries Contact	Governance Services