

# Terms of Reference - Honorary Awards Committee Rule

The Honorary Awards Committee was established by the University Council as a committee of Council pursuant to Schedule 1, clause 4 of the <u>Southern Cross University Act 1993</u> (NSW).

## Responsibilities

(1) Advise the Southern Cross University Council on the criteria and procedures for awarding honorary degrees and honorary titles.

(2) Consider and make recommendations to the Southern Cross University Council concerning the conferring of honorary awards, honorary titles and emeritus, including the number, the frequencies and the individuals to be honoured.

(3) Consider nominating persons to the Order of Australia.

## Composition

(4) The membership of the Committee is:

- a. Chancellor (Chair)
- b. Deputy Chancellor
- c. Vice-Chancellor
- d. Chair, Academic Board
- e. Two Council members

#### Meetings

(5) The Committee shall meet as required.

#### **Current Membership**

- (6) Current membership consist of:
- Ms Sandra McPhee AM, Chancellor
- Mr Geoff Stalley, Deputy Chancellor
- Professor Tyrone Carlin, Vice-Chancellor
- Associate Professor Desiree Kozlowski, Chair, Academic Board
- Professor Renaud Joannes-Boyau
- Mr Jonathan Rourke

This document may be varied, withdrawn or replaced at any time. Printed copies, or part thereof, are regarded as uncontrolled and should not be relied upon as the current version. It is the responsibility of the individual reading this document to always refer to the Southern Cross University Policy Library for the latest version.

## **Status and Details**

Status	Current
Effective Date	8th May 2025
Review Date	8th May 2028
Approval Authority	Council Secretary
Approval Date	7th May 2025
Expiry Date	Not Applicable
Responsible Executive	Mark Dixon Council Secretary
Head of Work Unit	Mark Dixon Director, Governance Services
Enquiries Contact	Governance Services