

# **Terms of Reference - Finance and Investment Committee Rule**

The Finance and Investment Committee was established by the University Council as a committee of Council pursuant to Schedule 1, clause 4 of the <u>Southern Cross University Act 1993</u> (NSW).

## Responsibilities

## Finance performance and sustainability

- (1) Monitor and advise the Southern Cross University Council on the University's financial and operational performance.
- (2) Consider and make recommendations to the Southern Cross University Council on approval of the University's annual budget.
- (3) Consider and advise the Southern Cross University Council on financing mechanisms available as a means of funding the University's ongoing operations and investment.
- (4) Consider and make recommendations to Southern Cross University Council on approval of new significant strategic expenditure including the financial impacts and any risks associated with the proposed activity.
- (5) Monitor and advise the Southern Cross University Council on risks associated with the University's financial sustainability and viability.

### Investment

- (6) Monitor and advise the Southern Cross University Council on:
  - i. strategies for the management of the University's investments, including its property holdings.
  - ii. matters relating to the University's investment portfolio including:
    - the appropriateness of investment policies
    - the performance of the investment portfolio

#### **Asset management**

(7) Monitor and advise the Southern Cross University on strategies for the management of the University's physical and information technology infrastructure.

## Composition

- (8) The membership of the Committee is:
  - a. Vice-Chancellor
  - b. Up to six members of Council, not less than half of whom are external
- (9) Membership of the Committee will include:

- a. at least one external member with financial expertise; and
- b. at least one external member with investment expertise.
- (10) The Vice President (Finance) will be a standing attendee at all Committee meetings.

# **Meetings**

(11) The Committee shall meet at least four times per year.

## **Current Membership**

(12) Membership consists of:

Mr Jonathan Rourke, external Member of Council (Chair)

Professor Tyrone Carlin, Vice Chancellor

Mr Peter Lewis, external Member of Council

Professor Renaud Johannes-Boyau

Professor Anne Simmons, AM, external Member of Council

# **Status and Details**

| Status                   | Current                                     |
|--------------------------|---|
| Effective Date           | 8th May 2025                                |
| Review Date              | 8th May 2028                                |
| Approval Authority       | Council Secretary                           |
| Approval Date            | 7th May 2025                                |
| Expiry Date              | Not Applicable                              |
| Responsible Executive    | Mark Dixon<br>Council Secretary             |
| Head of Work Unit        | Mark Dixon<br>Director, Governance Services |
| <b>Enquiries Contact</b> | Governance Services                         |