

Terms of Reference - Chancellor's Committee Rule Section 1 - Authorisation

(1) The Council of Southern Cross University, as the Governing authority of Southern Cross University, by resolution makes the following Rule under section 30(1) of the <u>Southern Cross University Act 1993</u>('Act'), pursuant to section 52 of the <u>Southern Cross University By-Law 2005</u>.

(2) Dated: 31 March 2016

(3) Authorised: Council

Section 2 - Purpose and Scope

Purpose

(4) The purpose of this Rule is to define terms of reference for Chancellor's Committee.

Scope

(5) This rule applies to the members and operation of Chancellor's Committee.

Section 3 - Terms of Reference

Purpose

(6) The Chancellor's Committee is the executive committee of Council and meets between meetings to deal with matters of an urgent nature. The Minutes of Chancellor's Committee meetings are formally ratified at the next Council meeting.

Composition

- (7) The membership of the Chancellor's Committee consists of:
 - a. Chancellor(Chair)
 - b. Deputy Chancellor
 - c. Vice Chancellor
 - d. Chair, Academic Board

Quorum

(8) All Committee members must be present to constitute a quorum.

Meetings

(9) The Committee shall meet as required. Chancellor's Committee business may be circulated for consideration via a

Flying Minute and formally ratified at the next meeting ordinary meeting of Council.

Current Membership

- (10) Mr Nick Burton Taylor AM, Chancellor (Chair)
- (11) Mr Murray d'Almeida, Deputy Chancellor
- (12) Professor Tyrone Carlin, Vice Chancellor
- (13) Professor Andrew Rose, Chair of Academic Board

Status and Details

Status	Historic
Effective Date	5th April 2016
Review Date	5th December 2018
Approval Authority	University Council
Approval Date	4th April 2016
Expiry Date	8th December 2020
Head of Work Unit	Mark Dixon Director, Governance Services
Enquiries Contact	Governance Services