

Finance and Investment Committee

Terms of Reference

Responsibilities

Finance performance and sustainability

- 1. Monitor and advise the Southern Cross University Council on the University's financial and operational performance.
- 2. Consider and make recommendations to the Southern Cross University Council on approval of the University's annual budget.
- 3. Consider and advise the Southern Cross University Council on financing mechanisms available as a means of funding the University's ongoing operations and investment.
- 4. Consider and make recommendations to Southern Cross University Council on approval of new significant strategic expenditure including the financial impacts and any risks associated with the proposed activity.
- 5. Monitor and advise the Southern Cross University Council on risks associated with the University's financial sustainability and viability.

Investment

- 6. Monitor and advise the Southern Cross University Council on:
 - a. strategies for the management of the University's investments, including its property holdings.
 - b. matters relating to the University's investment portfolio including:
 - the appropriateness of investment policies
 - the performance of the investment portfolio

Asset management

7. Monitor and advise the Southern Cross University on strategies for the management of the University's physical and information technology infrastructure.

Composition

- 8. The membership of the Committee is:
 - a. Deputy Chancellor
 - b. Vice Chancellor
 - c. Up to six members of Council, not less than half of whom are external
- 9. The Vice President (Finance) will be a standing attendee at all Committee meetings.
- 10. Up to two external and independent member with investment expertise will attend Committee meetings and provide input into matters relating to the investment portfolio only.

Meetings

11. The Committee shall meet at least four times per year.

Current Membership

Mr Jonathan Rourke (Chair) Mr Murray d'Almeida, Deputy Chancellor Professor Tyrone Carlin, Vice Chancellor Mr Graham Lancaster Mr Scott Noble