Skip Navigation

SCU Policy Library Glossary

The SCU Policy Library Glossary is a list of terms and their standard definitions for policies, procedures and guidelines. Unless separately defined or the context of the policy requires otherwise then the following definitions apply to each policy.

 It is expected that the glossary will be built up over time and documents will gradually be converted to incorporate standard definitions as part of the normal review process.

Click on a letter from A to Z below to view Glossary items that begin with the selected letter, or use the scroll bar located on the right hand side of this page to browse the entire list.


Academic Advisory Committee

Academic Advisory Committees are normally established by Schools. They act as advisory committees for courses, suites of courses, or Schools. Their role is to provide informed advice regarding academic and research matters to the relevant Head of School. Membership normally consists of student, internal and external representation.

Academic Board

The body of that name appointed by the Council of the University.

Academic Board Appeals Committee

The Academic Board Appeals Committee is a Committee of Academic Board and a University body that assists in assuring quality and integrity in academic outcomes for students by considering potential irregularities in academic assessment and progression processes.

Academic Integrity Officer

The nominated member of staff in each School, College or Special Research Centre responsible for receiving ,and where necessary investigating and reporting on, allegations of Academic Misconduct within their School, College or Special Research Centre.

Academic Standards and Quality Committee

The Academic Standards and Quality Committee is the principal advisory committee of the Academic Board on issues of standards and quality associated with teaching and learning at SCU.

Accreditation Committee

The Accreditation Committee advises the Academic Board on matters relating to unit and course approvals and course accreditation.

Advanced Standing

A form of credit for any previous learning (AQF 2013, p.92). Advanced standing is granted on the basis of previous, successfully completed studies or other recognised prior learning, and is expressed as specified or unspecified credit points towards the completion of an award.

Advanced Standing Precedent

An advanced standing outcome that is made publicly available to increase the transparency of the University's advanced standing decisions.

Aegrotat Award

An award granted under circumstances where a student was unable in the final study period to complete particular assessment tasks on account of death or incapacity.

Annual Course Report

The report compiled annually by the Course Coordinator and is based on data from the Management Information System (MIS) and information from the Unit Reports.

Articulation Arrangements

Enabling students to progress from a completed qualification to another with admission and/or credit in a defined qualification pathway' (AQF, 2013, p.92).


 The process by which student academic progress is monitored and judged.

Assessment Task

Any item of assessment, for example, tests, examinations, assignments, practicals, clinicals, orals and any other performances required as part of an assessment.


The proportion of students enrolled in year(x) who neither complete in year(x) or year(x + 1) nor return in year(x + 1).

The attrition rate identifies students that neither complete a course nor are retained the following year at the same institution. Students who change institution are counted as attrition. Students who change course at the same institution are not counted as attrition.

Australian Law

Australian common law, federal laws enacted by the Parliament of Australia, and laws enacted by the Parliaments of the Australian states and territories.  The Southern Cross University Act 1993 has obvious and specific relevance, being ‘An Act to establish the Southern Cross University and to provide for its constitution and functions; and for other purposes.’ The Act specifies that ‘The University is a body corporate under the name of the Southern Cross University’, and that ‘The University consists of (a) a Council, and (b) the professors and full-time members of the academic staff of the University and such other members or classes of members of the staff of the University as the by-laws may prescribe, and (c) the graduates and students of the University. 


A qualification achieved following successful completion of an accredited course.