Skip Navigation

SCU Policy Library Glossary

The SCU Policy Library Glossary is a list of terms and their standard definitions for policies, procedures and guidelines. Unless separately defined or the context of the policy requires otherwise then the following definitions apply to each policy.

 It is expected that the glossary will be built up over time and documents will gradually be converted to incorporate standard definitions as part of the normal review process.

Click on a letter from A to Z below to view Glossary items that begin with the selected letter, or use the scroll bar located on the right hand side of this page to browse the entire list.



will consist of 8 units and will be one of the following two types — Specialist (S) and University-wide (U).

Specialist major:

i. comprises 8 units to be chosen from a maximum of 12
ii. builds on the core, i.e. pre-requisites come from the core
iii. may enable pathways through the major through requisites contained within the major
iv. does not include independent studies units
v. only includes viable units
vi. is built by the specialist School/College to suit the needs of the specialist degree that it is part of 15
vii. can include units from other School/Colleges, with consultation
viii. will be named and approved by Academic Board.

A university-wide major:

i. comprises 8 units to be chosen from a maximum of 14
ii. is self-contained and does not require entry pre-requisites although pathways through the major can be constructed through requisites (if required) contained within the major
iii. does not include independent studies units
iv only includes viable units
v. exists independently of a specific award
vi. can be constructed by a School/College or combination of such but one School/College must be responsible for the approval and management of the major
vii. will be the same regardless of the degree undertaken
viii. will be approved by academic board as available across the university for inclusion in a range of UG degrees
ix. university-wide majors will be listed in the student handbook.


 A sequence of units in an undergraduate degree which comprises 48 credit points (4 units) and is not named on the testamur.