View Current

Council - Composition of Council Membership Rule

This is not a current document. To view the current version, click the link in the document's navigation bar.

Section 1 - Authorisation

(1) The Council of Southern Cross University, as the governing authority of Southern Cross University, by resolution makes the following Rule under section 30(1) of the Southern Cross University Act 1993 ('the Act'), section 9B(4) of the Act (which refers to this rule as the constitution rules) and section 52 of the Southern Cross University By-Law 2005 (as amended) ('the By-Law').

Top of Page

Section 2 - Preliminary


(2) The purpose of this Rule is to establish the composition of Council membership.


(3) This Rule applies to the Council.

Top of Page

Section 3 - Council Composition

(4) Pursuant to section 9B(4) of the Act, the University Council will consist of a total of 13 members, divided into the following categories:

  1. three official members;
  2. four elected members consisting of;
    1. two elected (academic staff) members;
    2. one elected (non-academic staff) member;
    3. one elected (student) member.
  3. four Council appointed members;
  4. two Ministerially appointed members.

(5) One of the four 'Council appointed members' will be an external person who is a graduate of the University.

(6) Pursuant to section 9B(5) of the Act, this Rule may only be amended by resolution passed by at least two thirds of the members of Council.

(7) Pursuant to section 9E(2)(b) of the Act, this Rule provides that a graduate member is to become a member of Council by appointment by Council under section 9F of the Act.

Top of Page

Section 4 - Interpretation

(8) Terms and phrases used in this Rule have the same meaning as they do in the Act and the By-law.