View Current

Terms of Reference - Chancellor's Committee Rule

This is not a current document. To view the current version, click the link in the document's navigation bar.

Section 1 - Authorisation

(1) The Council of Southern Cross University, as the Governing authority of Southern Cross University, by resolution makes the following Rule under section 30(1) of the Southern Cross University Act 1993 ('Act'), pursuant to section 52 of the Southern Cross University By-Law 2005 .

(2) Dated: 31 March 2016

(3) Authorised: Council

Top of Page

Section 2 - Purpose and Scope


(4) The purpose of this Rule is to define terms of reference for Chancellor's Committee.


(5) This rule applies to the members and operation of Chancellor's Committee.

Top of Page

Section 3 - Terms of Reference


(6) The Chancellor's Committee is the executive committee of Council and meets between meetings to deal with matters of an urgent nature. The Minutes of Chancellor's Committee meetings are formally ratified at the next Council meeting.


(7) The membership of the Chancellor's Committee consists of:

  1. Chancellor(Chair)
  2. Deputy Chancellor
  3. Vice Chancellor
  4. Chair, Academic Board


(8) All Committee members must be present to constitute a quorum.


(9) The Committee shall meet as required. Chancellor's Committee business may be circulated for consideration via a Flying Minute and formally ratified at the next meeting ordinary meeting of Council.

Current Membership

(10) Mr Nick Burton Taylor AM, Chancellor (Chair)

(11) Mr Murray d'Almeida, Deputy Chancellor

(12) Professor Tyrone Carlin, Vice Chancellor

(13) Professor Andrew Rose, Chair of Academic Board