View Current

Terms of Reference - Accreditation Committee

This is the current version of this document. To view historic versions, click the link in the document's navigation bar.

Section 1 - Purpose

(1) The Accreditation Committee is a subcommittee of Academic Board.  It advises the Academic Board on matters relating to unit and course approvals and course accreditation. The Committee will:

  1. advise Academic Board on the accreditation, reaccreditation or removal of University coursework programs, in line with University policy and national qualification standards;
  2. advise Academic Board on award rules and admission standards in accordance with University policy;
  3. advise Academic Board on unit and course changes, advanced standing and articulation matters in accordance with University policy;
  4. on behalf of the Academic Board, variously approve matters as authorised by the Course and Unit Approval Authorities
  5. act as a source of advice and reference to Faculties and Colleges on course development;
  6. identify and make recommendations to Academic Board on current or emerging issues pertaining to courses and qualification standards; and
  7. consider and report to Academic Board on any matters referred to it by the Vice-Chancellor, the Academic Board or by the Chair, Academic Board.
Top of Page

Section 2 - Composition

(2) The membership of Accreditation Committee is:

  1. Chair: Deputy Chair (Teaching and Learning), Academic Board (elected in accordance with the Terms of Reference - Academic Board Rule
  2. Faculty Board Chairs
  3. Director, Centre for Teaching and Learning (or nominee)
  4. Chair, Academic Board
  5. Director, Business Intelligence and Quality (or nominee)
  6. Director, Student Administration Services or nominee
  7. Director, Library Services (or nominee).

(3) If the Chair of a Faculty Board is unavailable, the Deputy Chair of the Faculty Board will be the alternate member.

Top of Page

Section 3 - Quorum

(4) The quorum for meetings of the Accreditation Committee is five members.